Click on the appropriate item below for information on the documentation required for Board review in regards to credit issues: Bankruptcy Collection(s) or Child Support Judgment(s) or Lien(s) All documentation must be returned to the Board office no later than 7 days prior to the Board meeting date of the application’s review.
No. The law regulating residential home builders does not address insurance. However, insurance may be required under other state laws. You should contact the Department of Industrial Relations for more information regarding insurance requirements.
The Board does not offer training classes or study materials. However, the Candidate Information Bulletin in the application packet provides basic information and references to study materials. Independent vendors will sometimes offer classes and study materials for the examination; if vendors provide the Board with information regarding the classes and study materials, the Board provides that information […]
If you are not sure whether a license is required for a particular job, please contact the Board’s office and ask to speak to someone in the Legal Division.
Yes. You must mail a signed, written request for a refund to the Board. Please note that the $100 processing fee is non-refundable.
If you hold a residential construction license in the States of Tennessee, South Carolina, Mississippi, or Louisiana, you may be exempt from the Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board Exam. If you hold a current and valid residential builder’s license in another state, answer yes to the question on the application asking whether you have applied for a […]
In order to better serve the needs of each candidate, the Board offers nine testing facilities: Auburn, Birmingham (2), Enterprise, Huntsville, Mobile, Montgomery, Sheffield and Tuscaloosa. All testing is provided by Prov, Inc.. No authorization is required to take the test. To download your Candidate Information Bulletin that will answer all of your exam questions for […]
A test score is valid for three (3) years from the date of the test.
Processing of an application, including receipt of the application with required documentation, test scores and credit reports or bond information, and review by the Board takes approximately 3 to 4 weeks. Applications must be on file in the Board’s office and be deemed complete seven days prior to a scheduled meeting of the Board in […]
Click here to obtain a free downloadable application package or provide a check or money order for $25 made payable to the Home Builders Licensure Board at the Home Builders Licensure Board offices at 445 Herron Street, Montgomery, Alabama 36104 or with a written request to Home Builders Licensure Board, P. O. Box 303605, Montgomery, […]