Testing Score Changes
New passing scores for Home Builders Examination become effective July 1, 2022! During its April 2022 meeting, the Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board set new passing scores for both the skills and business and law sections of the examination for license. Effective July 1, 2022, an applicant will have to score at least a 66 on the skills section and at least a 70 on the business and law section.
Anyone who takes one or both sections of the examination after July 1, 2022, will be held to the new section passing scores.
The Board spent a day and a half (April 23-24, 2022), reviewing the examination process, data from five years of proctored examinations, and suggested information for new examination material and questions based upon changes in the licensure law.
“The board thought it was extremely important that they, themselves meet and conduct the examination review with the representatives from Prov, our testing provider,” said Board Executive Director Chip Carden. “Through this process, they were able to make appropriate adjustments with the examination, including what are passing scores in the evaluation of experience and ability.”
The effective date is July 1, 2022, for the new passing scores. 66 on the skills section and at least a 70 on the business and law section. For more information, visit the testing provider, Prov Inc., www.provexam.com
Administrative Rules and Regulation Changes
There have been changes to the Board’s Administrative Rules and Regulations.
- The Board is no longer required to charge a $50.00 late fee if licensees fail to complete continuing education by November 30th.
- In cities and counties that have not adopted a residential building code, the Board will apply the 2015 International Residential building Code (IRC) when conducting investigations involving contracts that were entered into on or after February 13, 2022. In cities and counties with an adopted building code, the Board will apply the code adopted by the city or county. Click here for a more detailed explanation.
- Licensees are no longer required to provide a written explanation of pending lawsuits.
- Within 45 days of the departure of the designated qualifying representative (DQR), the licensee must submit a hardship waiver that includes documentation reflecting the cause of the DQR’s departure. The hardship waiver can be granted for no more than 135 days. The hardship waiver must accompany a fee of $125.00. The fee is $75.00 for a roofers license.
- Military Education and training may be used to satisfy a portion of the experience and ability requirement.
- There is now a $25.00 fee to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged license. There is no charge to replace an undelivered license. Licensee’s must complete an Affidavit found on the Board’s website.
- There is now a $100.00 processing fee to change the DQR.
- To seek non-traditional continuing education course credit, licensees may submit the request for approval within the current license year and prior to the renewal of the license for the following year.
Please click here for a complete copy of the rules and regulations.
Consumer Protection Law
This is a reminder to all HBLB licensees during this time of cleanup and rebuilding following Hurricane Sally. As a licensee, you are obligated to follow all laws regulating residential construction found in the Code of Alabama 34-14A- et seq. Likewise, you are obligated to follow ALL consumer protection laws found in Title 8 of the Code of Alabama. Specifically, Ala. Code Sec. 8-36-2 that requires contract disclaimers to consumer homeowners for roofing contract cancellations. Noncompliance with this law may result in administrative disciplinary action, civil, or criminal liability. Click here for more information.
Online Proctoring Available for HBLB Exams
For applicants or those interested in becoming a licensed homebuilder and needing testing information, you may now schedule for online proctoring of the Alabama Home Builders license exam through the provider, Prov testing. For more information, please go to the Prov contact information under the applicants tab on the website or www.provexam.com for registration or further information.