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Board Member Retires After 23 Years 

J ohn Manuel, the Home Builders 
Licensure Board representative 
for Congressional District One, 
has retired after 23 years of ser-

vice for the Board and the housing 
consumers of the State of Alabama.  
Mr. Manuel was originally appointed 
by Speaker of the House, Jimmy Clark, 
in 1995 and was reappointed every 
three years by Speakers Clark, Seth 
Hammett, and Michael Hubbard.  
John Manuel provided excellent lead-
ership and was a steady and knowl-
edgeable fixture on the Board during 
its formative years, through multiple 
law changes, economic down turns 
and staff changes. Mr. Manuel has 
owned and operated Manuel Masonry 

Contracting since 1971 and worked 
on many well-known projects such as 
Hank Aaron Stadium, Hampton Inn, 
and scores of residential structures. He 
was voted minority contractor of the 
year for 1999 and served as the Board’s 
Vice Chair 2005-2008 and as Chair-
man of the Home Builders Licensure 
Board 2009-2012. 
 

Mr. Manuel has been a long-term con-
tributor to his community through his 
work with youth development organi-
zations and as the building committee 
chairman and supervisor of construc-
tion of New Shiloh Baptist Church in 
Mobile, Alabama. He has also served 
two terms as President of the Mobile 
Mardi Gras Association.  ▲ 

What YOU Need to Know About Changes to the 
Home Builders Licensure Law  

John Manuel 

Y ou may have heard some lumber-yard talk about  
changes to the law. Forget the rumors -- here are 
the facts.  As of May 1, 2018: 
 

• The definition of residential home builder now in-
cludes “a residential roofer when the cost of the under-
taking exceeds $2,500).” (Ala. Code § 34-14A-2(11).) 
Roofers licenses are not yet being issued by the Board. 
Please read the article on page 3 regarding the roofers 
license for additional critical information. 

• Advertising to do work requiring a home builders li-
cense is proof of acting as a home builder. (Ala. Code § 
34-14A-2(11).) This change will greatly assist the Board 
in locating and bringing action against unlicensed 
builders. 

• An improvement is defined as “any site-built addition 
or enhancement attached to or detached from a resi-
dence” and is clearly a part of the residence. (Ala. Code 

§ 34-14A-2(4).) This means that builders of detached 
garages, pool houses, workshops, outdoor kitchens, 
etc., will be required to hold a home builders license 
when the total cost of the job exceeds $10,000. 

• The Board is authorized to collect the cost of holding a 
disciplinary hearing when the licensee is found guilty at 
the hearing and is disciplined by the Board. (Ala. Code 
§ 34-14A-8(h).) 

• The homeowner exemption is not transferable. (Ala. 
Code § 34-14A-6(e).) A homeowner cannot transfer 
their homeowner exemption from holding a home 
builders license to anyone.  A person that they hire to 
perform work that would require a license, including 
overseeing or supervising the job, must hold the re-
quired license. 

 
(Continued on page 2) 

 



 

What You Need to Know About Changes to the Home 
Builders Licensure Law  
(Continued from page 1) 
 
• The maximum amount the Board may fine per discipli-

nary charge increased from $2,000 to $5,000. (Ala. 
Code § 34-14A-8(a).) 

• If the Board pays out of the Homeowners’ Recovery 
Fund on behalf of a licensee, the licensee’s license may 
be revoked and the qualifications and experience of the 
licensee or the licensee’s qualifying representative may 
no longer be recognized for licensing purposes. The 
former licensee and the former licensee’s qualifying 
representative must repay the fund before a license will 
be issued. (Ala. Code § 34-14A-15(e).) What this means 
is that if the Board pays out of the Fund on a claim 
against a licensee, it may revoke the license AND the 
qualifications and experience of the licensee are no 
longer valid. If the licensee is a corporation or limited 
liability company, the license may be revoked and the 
qualifications and experience of the designated qualify-
ing representative are no longer valid. The licensee, 
whether it is an individual or a corporation, must repay 
the Fund before a license will be issued. The designated 
qualifying representative cannot be issued an individual 
license or be a designated qualifying representative un-
til the Fund is repaid. The designated qualifying repre-

sentative may repay the Fund if the licensee does not 
repay the Fund. 

• Licensees who are performing work that complies with 
programs to enhance resiliency of structure (fortified 
housing, etc.) are required to disclose in writing to a 
homeowner prior to commencing work that the work 
will comply with those programs. (Ala. Code § 34-14A-
7(g).) Often a homeowner is not informed that the 
work will meet fortified housing requirements until 
sometime after construction has begun. Without being 
informed prior to construction beginning, the home-
owner is unable to meet the requirements 
(documenting various phases of work, etc.) to obtain 
available grant money or other financial benefit due to 
the homeowner.  

 
Be on the lookout for further notice about changes to the 
law. It’s up to you to be in compliance.  ▲ 

Building Officials: Our Most Valuable Players 
By Darlene Burt 

T he goal of building officials and the Home 
Builders Licensure Board (hereinafter “Board”) 
is to promote public health, safety, and welfare. 
As a team, the shared goal of protecting consum-

ers from unlicensed builders can be reached. No consumer 
wants to be blindsided by an unlicensed builder.  The 
building inspections department is the first line of defense.   
The quickest way to sack an unlicensed builder is to deny 
the permit and report the unlicensed activity to the Board.  
 
Let’s have a quick huddle to review the play. The defense 
checks the permit application to ensure that the name on 
the application is the same as on the licensure card. If the 
applicant is a general contractor, the defense ensures that 
the license number is 18908 or below. If the applicant is 
claiming the homeowner exemption, the defense reminds 
them that the exemption does not apply to their subcon-
tractors. To avoid a flag on the play, the Board suggests get-
ting a list of subcontractors and checking their licensure 
status.   
 

When the offense (Board) receives reports of unlicensed 
builder activity, its string of investigators is called in to gath-
er evidence. Once the investigation is complete, the Board’s 
attorney calls the play. The Board can currently fine the 
unlicensed builder up to $2,000 or pursue criminal prose-
cution. Be on the lookout for upcoming changes in the law. 
If prosecuted, the unlicensed builder can face up to $6,000 
in fines and one year in jail. Visit our website at 
www.hblb.alabama.gov/disciplinary-actions/ for a list of 
recent prosecutions. To report unlicensed builder activity, 
call Darlene Burt at 800-304-0853 ext. 232. ▲ 

Do Yourself a Favor – Make sure 
you’re licensed the way you enter 

into contracts. See the Legal 
Compliance Corner on page 6. 
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New License for Residential Roofers 
By J. Seth Gowan, Deputy Attorney General 

S ince enacted in 1992, the Home Builder Licensure Law has not seen real significant changes until the 2018 regu-
lar session of the Alabama Legislature.  From the various housekeeping measures to changes in the law governing 
the Homeowner’s Recovery Fund, none will be more impactful for consumer protection than the new license re-
quirements for residential roofing.  

 
The legislation sponsored by Senator Steve Livingston and Representative Steve McMillan was signed into law by Gover-
nor Kay Ivey on February 27, 2018, as Act Number 2018-143.  The new residential roofing provisions are a culmination of 
discussions and collaboration among leaders in the homebuilding industry, the insurance industry, the Board and legisla-
tive leaders to provide more protections for homeowners.  
 
All agree that when someone who is not qualified does things incorrectly repairing or 
replacing a roof, this can and will lead to serious damage to a home and homeowner.  
This is especially a problem following severe weather outbreaks in the state.  Roofs 
that are replaced or repaired incorrectly following these storms result in more dam-
age to the residence, cost the homeowner more money and heartache and ultimately 
harm all consumers because of the negative impact on the insurance market. 
 
“The consequences of a roof not being put on correctly can be traced all the way to 
the foundation of the home in some instances,” said Chip Carden, Executive Direc-
tor of the Home Builders Licensure Board.  “That seven thousand or eight thousand-
dollar roof replacement that happens to not be flashed correctly will result in water 
damage to the interior of the house every time.  It can very quickly become a struc-
tural disaster to the point the home is uninhabitable.” 
 
The law now defines residential roofer and sets a threshold at $2,500 for when a li-
cense is required for installing or repairing a residential roof.  The Board already had 
regulatory authority to issue more than one type of license (limited, unlimited), and 
the changes to the Act have codified this authority to issue licenses based upon scope 
of work, variance in requirements to get a license and cost of the undertaking. 
 

(11)  RESIDENTIAL HOME BUILDER.  A person who constructs a residence or structure for sale or who, 
for a fixed price, commission, fee, or wage, undertakes or offers to undertake the construction or superintending 
of the construction, or who manages, supervises, assists, or provides consultation to a homeowner regarding the 
construction or superintending of the construction, of any residence or structure that is not over three floors in 
height and  that does not have more than four residential units, or the repair, improvement, or reimprovement 
thereof, to be used by another as a residence when the cost of the undertaking exceeds ten thousand dollars 
($10,000). Notwithstanding the foregoing, the term includes a residential roofer when the cost 
of the undertaking exceeds two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500). Nothing herein shall pre-
vent any person from performing these acts on his or her own residence or on his or her other real estate 
holdings.  Anyone who engages or offers to engage in any acts described in this subdivision, through advertising 
or otherwise, shall be deemed to have engaged in the business of residential home building. 
 
(12) RESIDENTIAL ROOFER. A person that installs products or repairs surfaces on the ex-
ternal upper covering of a residence or structure that seals, waterproofs, or weatherproofs the 
residence or structure. 

        Section 34-14A-2(11) and (12), Code of Alabama, 1975, 2018 
 

(Continued on page 5) 
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S ince September 29, 2011, the Board has had the 
authority through its administrative regulations to 
issue limited licenses to residential homebuilders 
who only perform a single trade and/or the work 

does not affect the structural integrity of the residence.  In 
other words, if a residential homebuilder enters into con-
tract with the homeowner to install vinyl siding and the 
cost of the undertaking is over $10,000, then the licensee 
would only be required to have a limited license. 
  
However, if a residential homebuilder enters into contract 
with the homeowner to do the framing of a residence and 
the cost of the undertaking is over $10,000, then the home-
builder would be required to have an unlimited license be-
cause the work affects the structural integrity of the resi-
dence.  The key questions regarding limited versus unlim-
ited license have always been: cost of the undertaking, sin-
gle or more than one trade performed, and structural or 
non-structural.  In fact, if you have recently visited your 
local building department, you may have seen a similar 
poster to the one with this article. 
 
There is also a distinction made between the limited and 
unlimited licenses regarding requirements for license.  For 

those seeking a limited license for a single trade, the appli-
cant or applicant designated qualifying representative for a 
partnership, corporation or limited liability company, may 
satisfy the experience and ability requirement without hav-
ing to take and pass the two-part examination.  For those 
seeking an unlimited license, the applicant or applicant 
designated qualifying representative must take and pass the 
two-part examination.  
  
The regulatory authority dealing with types of license was 
codified with changes to the Home Builders Licensure Law 
when passed by the Alabama Legislature and signed into 
law by Governor Kay Ivey during the 2018 regular session.   
 
The new changes go into effect May 1. 
 
The underlined portions of the law are new. 

(1) All residential home builders shall be required 
to be licensed by the Home Builders Licensure 
Board annually.  The board may issue more 
than one type of license. 

(2) The board may issue licenses that vary in scope 
of work authorized, including, but not limited 
to, licenses without and with limitation. 

(3) The board may issue licenses that vary in re-
quirements for licensure, including, but not 
limited to, evidence of experience and ability 
and financial responsibility, as determined by 
the cost of the undertaking. 

(4) The board may charge varying fees for licenses. 
 

Section 34-14A-5(a) Code of Alabama 1975, 2018 
 

With the codified changes in place, the Board will have the 
clear legal authority and ability to offer new types of licens-
es in the coming years as the need arises within the residen-
tial home building industry.  Specifically, the Board will 
soon be adopting new regulations and implementing en-
forcement in the coming months for a limited license of 
residential roofers.  That limited license will be for home-
builders who only do work on residential roofs with the 
cost of the undertaking being over $2,500.  
    
These changes along with several others to the Home Build-
ers Licensure Law will allow the Board to continue to pro-
tect Alabama consumers.  The Board will be continuing to 
communicate with building officials, consumers, and licen-
sees as changes to the law are implemented.  Please contact 
the Board with any questions regarding the type of license 
you need or any questions about the new law.  ▲ 

Limited License Codified  
By J. Seth Gowan, Deputy Attorney General 
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New License for Residential Roofers 
(Continued from page 3) 
 
The new roofing license will be a limited license con-
sistent with the above definition.  However, unlike cur-
rent limited licenses there will not be a requirement of 
obtaining a credit report upon application and annual 
renewal.  Instead, licensed roofers will be required to 
maintain bond coverage of $10,000 for a license year, Jan-
uary 1-December 31.  When a complaint is filed with the 
Board against a licensed residential roofer, the Board will 
investigate and determine what if any action the licensee 
must take to correct deficiencies or make a claim against 
the bond on behalf of the homeowner.  Only the Board 
will be able to make the claim.   
 
The new law is effective May 1, 2018.  However, there will 
not be immediate enforcement of the roofing license law.  
Regulations will have to be written and adopted by the 
Board before implementation.  New applications will have 
to be created.  As the Board goes through that process, it 
will be communicating with licensees, building officials 
and consumers what is happening and when. 
 
“Just because the law goes into effect May 1st, doesn’t 
mean we will be citing people for a violation on May 
2nd,” added Carden.  “It will take some time writing the 
regulations and getting notice out to everyone, roofers, 
building officials, suppliers, and consumers.  The main 
thing is we will be able to take an important step to pro-
vide more consumer protection for homeowners.”   
 
For more information about the new residential roofing 
requirements and other changes to the Home Builders 
Licensure law, please contact the Board or visit our web-
site, www.hblb.alabama.gov.  ▲    

NEW LAW REQUIRES 
 INSURANCE DISCLOSURE 

TO HOMEOWNERS 
 

O n June 1, 2018, a new law (Act No. 2018-398) 
will go into effect. The new law requires anyone 
meeting the definition of a residential home 
builder as defined in the Home Builders Licen-

sure Law (Ala. Code § 34-14A-2(11)) to disclose in writing to 
the homeowner, before work begins, whether the home 
builder has obtained and is currently maintaining liability 
insurance. The written disclosure must be signed by the li-
censee and the homeowner, and attested by one witness se-
lected by the homeowner.  
 
Be aware that this law DOES NOT require licensees to carry 
insurance. It requires licensees to tell homeowners in writing 
whether they do or do not carry liability insurance. ▲  

 

 

 

 

 

 

BuilderWatch 

Hotline 

1-800-304-0853 
Protect Alabama Consumers and 

Your Industry. 

Report Unlicensed Builder Activity! 

(All calls will remain anonymous.) 

“Just because the law goes into effect 
May 1st, doesn’t mean we will be citing 
people for a violation on May 2nd,” 
added Carden.  “It will take some time 
writing the regulations and getting 
notice out to everyone, roofers, building 
officials, suppliers, and consumers.  The 
main thing is we will be able to take an 
important step to provide more 
consumer protection for homeowners.”   

http://www.hblb.alabama.gov
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You’ve Got Mail from the 
HBLB...or Do You? 

I t is extremely important that the Board have the 
most recent mailing address and telephone number 
on file to communicate with licensees. By law, all 
licensees must promptly notify the Board of a new 

address and/or telephone number. The Board must be 
notified in writing. For convenience a change of address 
form can be found on the Board’s website at 
www.hblb.alabama.gov/forms-and-notices/. 
  
Not only is it important to provide 
the correct contact information, it’s 
also important to accept communica-
tion from the Board. Be sure to pick 
up or sign for any certified mail that 
is delivered from the Board. It could be legal notification 
from the Board that requires a response. If certified mail is 
returned to the Board, then the notification is re-sent first 
class mail, and the Board will assume the licensee received 
it. It is much better to sign for the certified mail and be 
aware of what is going on, rather than to be surprised. ▲ 

All current disciplinary actions and unli-

censed builder prosecutions can be found 

on the new and improved HBLB website 

at www.hblb.alabama.gov/disciplinary-

actions/.  All actions remain posted for a period of 

ninety (90) days.  Inquiries pertaining to disciplinary 

actions and unlicensed builder prosecutions must be 

submitted in writing to the Home Builders Licensure 

Board, Legal Division, P O Box 303605, Montgomery, 

Alabama 36130-3605. 

LEGAL COMPLIANCE 
CORNER 

How are you licensed?  How are you doing 
business?  Two important questions you need 
to answer before undertaking or offering to 
undertake residential construction.  The Board 
issues licenses to individuals, partnerships, 
corporations, limited liability companies 
(LLC), and not-for-profit organizations.  
Partnerships, corporations and LLCs are 
licensed through a designated qualifying 
representative (DQR) who meets the 
requirements for license.  A residential 
homebuilder can only engage in residential 
homebuilding as they are licensed.  In other 
words, if you are licensed individually, your 
written contract with the homeowner should 
be between you, individually, and the 
homeowner.  If you have a licensed 
partnership, corporation or LLC, then the 
contract should be between the business entity 
and the homeowner.  You cannot use your 
individual license to then do work through a 
partnership, corporation or LLC.  Likewise, 
you cannot be licensed as one business entity 
and use that license to do work through 
another entity.  If you do either of these, then 
that is unlicensed homebuilding.  
Unfortunately, these scenarios are common 
mistakes the Board discovers during 
investigations and will result in disciplinary 
action.  How are you licensed?  How are you 
doing business?  If you are not sure, contact the 
Home Builders Licensure Board. ▲  

HBLB Executive Director Chip Carden participates in press conference  

with Attorney General  Steve Marshall  to warn against home repair 

fraud following severe storms and tornadoes that caused extreme damage 

across areas of North Alabama on March 19, 2018. 

http://www.hblb.alabama.gov/forms-and-notices/
http://www.hblb.alabama.gov/disciplinary-actions/
http://www.hblb.alabama.gov/disciplinary-actions/



